Independent Learning Project

My independent learning project was to help me find things that make me happy.  Whether it was something to help me destress and unwind, sleep better, or going to counseling sessions I learned so much about myself.  For starters I learned that I am much much happier when I get a good night’s sleep.  I’m less stressed when I am organized and have everything written down in a planner or on a calendar. Also I am better at remembering things.  One of the best things that came out of this project for me was going to counseling sessions.  Most of you read some of my earlier posts about the different things that happened over the last few months and I decided I’d try a counseling session.  It really helped having someone impartial to my situation to talk me through some things.  One thing I learned while using my time to go to these sessions was that they’re not something to be ashamed of.  If you’re thinking about going even to just talk about everyday life I would recommend it! I really liked the project I chose because in college you are so stressed and always pressed for time, this gave me a reason to unwind and do some things for myself.  It has really helped me get through rough points in the semester.

I really like the idea of an independent learning project in the classroom.  I plan to teach high school and I think it is a great opportunity to let the students express themselves. They can experiment with things they like and incorporating blogs and other media sites helps teach the uses of technology.  This is a project I definitely plan to use in my classroom.

Leave a Reply

